MPs pledge their support for people with PH

MPs representing constituents from across the country joined us to find out more about pulmonary hypertension at Westminster this week.

Our ‘fly-in day’ at Portcullis House on Monday saw 15 MPs (or their representatives) meet with members of the PHA UK team to sign pledges to support people living with PH.

The pledges related to our four aims for positive change and included:

  • Raising our aims for service improvement with local NHS leaders
  • Writing to ministers about national policy developments for PH
  • Participating in any future parliamentary debates relevant to the four aims
  • Tabling written parliamentary questions about PH

Members of the PHA UK were invited to write to their MPs to encourage them to attend the event, which was designed to help us make initial contact and establish the groundwork upon which to build strong relationships to influence change.

Iain Armstrong, Co-Chair of PHocus2021 and Chair of the PHA UK, said: “Despite tumultuous times in parliament, and a Brexit speech being delivered by the Prime Minister at the same time just yards away, it was a superb response from MPs who took time to find out more about the devastating disease affecting their constituents.

“Just as important as the response from MPs was the response from our members, who took the bit by the teeth and took the time to write to their parliamentary representatives to get them there. It was fantastic to see such a positive and energised reaction to our request from the PH community, and it demonstrates just how large the appetite for change really is.”

We now plan to build on relationships with the MPs who showed their support by attending the event. Watch this space!

Thank you to those who attended:


Rt Hon Mark Tami MP, Labour MP for Alyn and Deeside

Paul Blomfield MP, Labour MP for Sheffield Central

Fiona Bruce MP, Conservative MP for Congleton

Nic Dakin MP, Labour MP for Scunthorpe

Dr David Drew MP, Labour MP for Stroud

Paul Farrelly MP (sent team member), Labour MP for Newcastle-under-Lyme

Kevin Hollinrake MP, Conservative MP for Thirsk and Malton

Philip Hollobone MP, Conservative MP for Kettering

Andrea Jenkins MP, Conservative MP for Morley and Outwood

Robert Jenrick MP, Conservative MP for Newark

John Lamont MP, Conservative MP for Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk

Craig Mackinlay MP (sent team member), Conservative MP for South Thanet

Khalid Mamood MP, Labour MP for Birmingham Perry Barr

Royston Smith MP, Conservative MP for Southampton Itchen

Bob Stewart MP, Conservative MP for Beckenham